Showing posts with label Dress. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Dress. Show all posts

25 November, 2008

Packham envy

My fellow South African blogger, SexyRedFrame, got married this last Saturday, and she looked gooorgeous! Go see. The reason I'm bringing it up is because of her DRESS. Wow, what a stunner. I looked, I marvelled,I said "wow", and I closed her blog. A few minutes later, something was niggling at me. There was something familiar about that dress... I went back to her blog and read pretty much the whole damn thing to find the bit where she chose her dress, so I could see what it was, and, hopefully, see a better picture of it.

Well, there was a picture. A very familiar picture! I immediately went into my well-hidden "dresses I love" folder, which I saved within a folder within a folder within a folder with nothing to do with weddings, so that Mr Ruby Slippers wouldn't ever find it. I hadn't looked at that folder since I ordered my dress in February/early March, but before that, boy, did I look at it twenty times a day!

And there it was. The Jenny Packham Papillon:


I'd saved it in a folder with only 37 other dresses. That's, like, three in bridal terms. :-) I loooved this dress. But Jenny Packham doesn't happen here in SA, and unlike RedFrame, I couldn't go to the States to try on designer wedding gowns. So I must own up to the tiniest bit of jealousy that Sexy RedFrame was able to wear such a stunning dress...and she definitely looked waaay more gorgeous than I ever would! I think you might need to be tall and willowy to pull off that dress, and I'm....not.

Don't get me wrong, I loved my dress, and people told me all night how beautiful it was and how gorgeous I looked in it (best night of my life, that!). I just still can't help wishing that I'd had more variety to choose from, just in case. For instance, in South Africa, all the wedding gowns are a variation on these four standards:

(These are actual dresses from Bride & Co, where I bought my dress)

The A-line with side gathering:


The pick-up skirt:
The frou-frou ballgown:
The slightly mermaid:
And that's it. I did see a couple of sheaths back in the day, but they're all gone now.

I will say that looking at their website, which has been completely restocked since Feb/March, they have a much wider selection of split-front dresses than before. I had two to choose from. There are now six (but the one I didn't choose has vanished). Oh, and my dress has gone up by TWO THOUSAND RAND. I don't earn a lot, but that's more than a third of my monthly salary. Thank you very much, economic crisis. I'm so glad Mr RS proposed when he did!

HOWever, back to the point, which is that the kind of flowy, pretty Jenny Packham/Claire Pettibone dress I was loving online was (and is) nowhere to be found! Aside from the Papillon, these are some of the images I fell in love with:






That scrumptious, flowing, empire-waisted period look was one I just could NOT find here. Now, frankly, I don't believe I could afforded a Jenny Packham dress anyway. But a little bit inside me just wishes I'd had the OPTION, you know?

I've loved this style of dress for years. Everytime I saw "My Fair Lady" (And I've seen it a LOT) I would swoon over the dress Audrey Hepburn wears to the ball (this is the best pic I could find of it without pulling out my dvd and taking a screenshot):

Drool. Envy.

17 November, 2008

Trash the Dress

Ok, so it's been 17 days since I wore my dress, my "I feel like the most beautiful creature in the world, for the first time in my life" dress. I loved it so, so much, that I'm already starting to think of ways I can legitimately get back into it!

Before I started Wedding Planning, I'd never even heard the term "Trash the Dress". Heck, I'd never heard of Save The Dates or Escort Cards or Birdcage veils either. But suddenly they were everywhere. From the extreme...


To the wet...

To the dirty....


To the just plain fun:
Image source


I don't think any of these brides really want to RUIN their dress. With the exception of the first, (which I've heard rumours is a photoshopped fake anyway), there's nothing here that a little drycleaning wouldn't fix. I have to confess I've really become obsessed with the idea of getting into my dress again and doing an "extreme dirty bridal shoot". Mmmm, the fun. Plus I just want to play in my dress before it goes into my closet for the next fifty years and does nothing.

I still remember my first double take at a TTD session. It was back in the early, heady days of photographer hunting (and the depressing discovery that 95% of South African photographers are just awful, and that the good 5% don't come cheap). I found this on a wedding website where local photographers could show off their work and contact details. I remember thinking, "What bride is going to climb into the water in her dress? She must be insane!" This, of course, before I knew of anything like Day After shoots and Trash the Dress Sessions. But it was definitely this photo that got me thinking about how gooorgeous this could be:

Mmmmmmwaaarrr......want.............

Then I saw this underwater shot on Casey Cunningham's blog. Oh, be still my beating heart!

I don't even know where I got this, but hummina hummina:


And this magical underwater cave one from Del Sol:




Ok, so we've established I like water shots. There's just one teensy little problem - I live in Johannesburg, which is nowhere near the sea, has very little natural water, and what there is is so polluted you wouldn't go near it with your little toe, let alone your entire body and wedding dress.

But I want the Lady of Shallott shots....



Hmmm. My next option is grunge. Dirty but cool, old factory, rusty stairs, broken windows, messed up hair GRUNGE. Yeah, baby!

My friend Sarah did some cool ones after her wedding:
Whoohoo, smokin' hot boots, girl!

How much do you love that he's in T-shirt and jeans, and she's in her wedding dress?

Love these too:
Find me a burnt-out old jalopy, and I'm there!

Or a forgotten, overgrown building:

(Above photos via TrashTheDress.com)


Above three images from here

More Grungy McGrungerson!


And then there is the city image with a twist. Ooooh:


But I still can't help wanting the water shots....they are just so beautiful! What do you guys think?


(Above three pics from Annandale Photography)

19 October, 2008

The day Miss Ruby Slippers went crazy

I was going to blog about my shower today, but then i figured I should wait for photos, so I can do a whole photo story thingy. Suffice it to say, it was F-U-N, and my girls know exactly what I like! And I got some cute gifts too. My almost-sister-in-law got me some black lacy underwear...props to her; I don't know if I could buy something like that without visualising my brother ripping it off with his teeth...:-)

But today sucked. And it started off so well! It's not even that big a deal....I just really need to learn not to let wedding stress affect my daily life. Riiiiight. Tell that to any Bride and she'll laugh in your face.

So we had a meeting at the venue this morning. Aside from the fact that I forgot to bring the numbers of place-settings for each table, it went fine. First we did a soundcheck in the chapel, and I practised walking up the aisle to see how long it took. I cried. Then we went through all the little details with the venue organiser, like the table layout, where we want the cake served, what time stuff is happening at, etc etc. Then she showed us where Mr Ruby Slippers would be getting ready, and where the girls and I would (the honeymoon suite! Which, by the way, is gorgeous). I was already planning spots for hanging dress shots and mirror shots. It's such a nice suite, it's almost a shame we only get a few hours in it. I'd like at least two days! But, sadly, we have to clear out by 10am for the next day's bride.

After the meeting we'd arranged to meet Mr Slippers' parents and show them around the venue, which they hadn't seen yet. They arrive, we start walking around, and FMIL RS drops the bombshell: Mr RS' aunt and two uncles have just decided not to come to the wedding. Yup, twelve days before the day, uncle #1 says he has an out-of-town conference, his wife decides to go with him, and uncle #2, who was coming from Botswana, is now without a lift so decides not to come too. Three people. Twelve days before the wedding, when they've already been PAID for, their seating layouts organised, everything. I was so incredibly angry that I dealt with it in the only way I know how to deal with any emotion right now: I burst into tears. I think I might have been pretty rude, or at least, impolite, to the future in-laws, because I kept saying things like, "Fuck 'em. We didn't want them there anyway." (I've never actually met these people, but Father-in-law RS hates his sister, so I've picked up on that...) and "You'd better tell them they owe us R750" (It's R250 a head) and "That is incredibly rude and I never want to meet them". Yeah...not my finest hour. But man, I was pissed off. If they'd cancelled two weeks ago we could have invited some more B-list guests to bring the numbers up. We were at 69, which is only one short of our minimum. Now we're back to 66. Assholes.

So then The FILs went on their way, no doubt terrified that their son was marrying some kind of evil crying monster, and we stopped somewhere for lunch, since we had an hour and a half to kill before we needed to pick up my dress from alterations. This did not go well. Mr Slippers and I each ordered a smoothie. Oh...they were out of stock of that kind of smoothie. They only have the freezy non-dairy kind. Or something. So we each ordered one from that part of the menu, and our food as well. Ten minutes later Mr RS' smoothie arrives, and the waitress goes, "We're out of bananas for the other smoothie."

Not-so-dormant weepy monster rears its head and throws a weepy hissy fit, which went something like this:
Me:"I don't want to eat here anymore, then."
Mr RS (to waitress): "Um, can you cancel our food and bring us the bill for this drink?"
Me (laying head in hands and starting to cry openly): "I'm so huuuungry.........."

At which point Mr RS takes the drink back to the kitchen and takes me by the hand and takes me back to the car. Somewhat pissed off but worried about my bizarre behaviour. Um, as was I.

So we drive round the corner and go to another restaurant. Order drinks (which came!) and food. Which came...WRONG. Yup, they brought me the wrong meal. I fought off the urge to start crying again, and had the waiter take it back. Five to ten minutes later he returns with a burger...all covered in onions.
Me: "This is still wrong. I ordered a mushroom burger."
Waiter: "No, it's right. The mushroom sauce comes separately." (produces bowl of sauce to prove this)
Me: "But this has onions on."
Waiter: "Yes, it comes with caramelized onions."
Me: "But it doesn't say that on the menu. I don't eat onions." (I do, really, but only a few and only if I really feel like them. Which I didn't.)
Mr RS: (through grated teeth) "It's fine. Just scrape them off."
Me: "FINE."

I chuck them at a side plate, they mess on the table, Mr RS gets annoyed and I get weepy. Fun was had by all. By the time this was over it was three minutes before my dress appointment. We got the bill, I splashed water on my face, and we drove around the corner to the bridal store, where Mr RS proceeded to wait in the car for me. (well, he could hardly see my dress after all this time, could he?)

What more could go wrong, you ask? Well, it took them fifteen minutes to locate my dress. Fifteen minutes, which doesn't sound that long in the scheme of things, but it was fifteen minutes of me fighting back tears, convinced that they'd lost my dress, or, at best, that it wasn't ready and I'd have to drive all that way back again next weekend. And it's not a short drive. So by the time they produced the dress I was a nervous wreck. I tried it on, and the length was fine (thank goodness), but the button for the bustle was far too low down, making the bustled-up train drag on the floor. I resisted the urge to snap, "What the hell is the use of a bustle if it's still a train???" and asked her nicely to move the button. Which she went off to do. Meanwhile Mr RS was sitting outside in the car getting very hot and bored and irritable, which led to much snappishness on the way home. We DON'T snap at each other, so this was quite upsetting for both of us.

So now I have a headache, I feel slightly nauseous, and I can barely see out of my eyes, they're so swollen from crying. And I just feel generally despondent. I'm so ready for the wedding; all I have to worry about is the details coming together on the day and remembering to take stuff to the venue! I'm not scared about marrying Mr Ruby Slippers at all; I know with all my heart it's what I want, so why am I getting so stressed about stupid little things like bananas? Even the people not coming - I don't care if they're there or not; in fact, they were going to be the only guests I'd never met (aside from one or two dates that are being brought by guests). I just feel incredibly insulted that they decided they all had something better to do than come to an expensive event where their presence has been confirmed and paid for, and then cancel via TEXT MESSAGE. Yeah, I forgot that little gem. It's basically a big slap in the face, and I don't like being slapped in the face. But I think if I wasn't so stressed I wouldn't have let it affect me this badly.

Man, I wish the wedding was this Friday instead of next.

07 October, 2008

Ten of the Best...ok, Fifteen of the Best

I've noticed in my epic blogstalking and trigger-happy right-click finger that there are certain types of wedding shots I just love. The hanging dress? Yum. The bride silhouetted in a window? Drool. Flying veil? Yes please. Rings in a cute place? Aww. You get my drift.

So I decided to make today's photo of the day a Theme of the Day, rather. What better way to showcase the awesomeness of all my hundreds of favourite photographers by choosing my favourite ten, fifteen, twenty, however many shots of the same type.

So today I've decided to do the hanging dress shots. You've seen some of these before, but these are my top 15. That I've seen. I've no doubt there are tons out there that could knock these flying, which is why I'm compelled to look at blogs all day, every day. I'm searching for that perfect shot. Because what if I MISS it???

In no particular order, because that's too hard:






Altmix Photography