Showing posts with label hairstyles. Show all posts
Showing posts with label hairstyles. Show all posts

24 October, 2008

In seven days, you will see the ring...

Wedding ring, that is ;-) Hopefully not the other, freaky-girl-child-climbs-out-the-tv kind.

All day long I was looking at the clock, thinking "Now we'd be arriving at the salon for our hair"..."Now I should be getting into my dress"..."Now I'll be walking down the aisle"... even my mom sent me an email at 3:45 this afternoon, saying that she realised that one week from today I would be transforming into MRS Ruby Slippers! Eeee!

I didn't do anything tonight. I watched a bunch of Grey's Anatomy and tried to breathe, and worried about how pudgy my tummy is. Seriously, that whole "bride losing weight before the wedding" thing is complete crap. Ever heard of stress-eating?? Well, I have, and so has my tummy. Hello, chocolate, my old friend.

My skin has been fabulous for weeks now. Which means that it has seven days to go nuts still. I guess eating all those potato chips for lunch won't help that cause. Buggrit.

I had a semi-hair trial, where I went to the salon ostensibly to talk about what I wanted, and ended up having my stylist and another guy testing out ways to curl my hair using different heaters, rollers, tongs, flat-irons, the works. Guess which one worked the best? Yeah...NONE of them. After five minutes every curl was hanging limply like week-old lettuce around my head. And I had so much hairspray in it made my nose itch. I wouldn't care about the hairspray if it held the curls, but apparently I have the stupidest hair in the world. My stylist says I lack inter-cellular cement, or something. Shrug. We didn't cover that in biology.


The two hairstyles I told her to base mine on.

I suggested to my stylist that I bring my own rollers in on the day, and that she puts my tiara in, the top part of my hair up, and then sends me on my way with the back rollers still in, which I will take out at the last possible moment. She then told me that since I first booked her, her days in the salon have been altered to accommodate a recent neck injury which was being aggravated by her working so often, and that now she's not working on the day of my wedding. She suggested that I still come in to the salon and get the bulk of my hair done, and that she then drives out to the venue and fixes the ends for me at the last minute. I thought this was incredibly kind of her, because it's over 25 kilometres to my venue, down a busy road that takes some time to get through. She already knew that the reason I wasn't having her come to the venue was because I couldn't afford that, so she can't have expected me now to offer to pay her for that, and I did try to talk her out of it but she said she would be happy to do it. I just hope she actually is. I guess I should get her something as a thank-you gift... maybe a box of chocolates and a little money to cover at least her petrol costs? Because it's really not in the budget to pay her properly to come out when I'm already paying her to do my hair at her salon! What do you think?

10 August, 2008

Hair trials

Or, in my case, the trial of finding a hairstylist. Yep, that's right - I'm two and a half months away and I STILL don't have a stylist. I feel like I've been a bit lazy about this, but honestly everyone keeps quoting me exorbitant travel costs that make me run for the hills and never want to come out of my safe little cave. I really want to get my hair done at the venue, because in the morning I have to oversee the setting-up of the reception hall and chapel, to make sure that everyone keeps in line with my vision (because it's myyyyy daaaaay!!!). If I then have to get in my car and drive off somewhere to do my hair, and then drive back again, it's (a) going to waste pretty much an hour of my day just on travel, and (b) tire me out even more, which is really not a good plan!

Which is why the stylists can quote you R1000 to come out to the venue and get away with it.

A few months ago I met up with a hairdresser who is a friend of a friend. He arrived half an hour late, didn't answer his phone either of the times I called him during that time, and then proceeded to tell me he didn't hear his phone ring because he was driving. Later in the conversation he mentioned that he lives five minutes away from the place where we were meeting - which means that if it took him 5 minutes to get there, he was still at home BOTH times I phoned him. Needless to say, I didn't want to hire an unreliable liar for the most important day of my life, so I brushed him off.

The next two people were too expensive, and my regular hairdresser doesn't travel out because she works from home and has a baby.

So in the last month I've just pretty much given up...which is BAD, very bad! On the upside, at least I know what sort of style I want! Something mostly down, lightly curled, and covering my ears, which are my least favourite part of my anatomy (followed swiftly by my knees). Something like these:



I also really love the look of this one, but I'd want the back part loose. The twisted hair on the crown of her head is phenomenal, though:


My obsession with photography blogs leads me to find a new idea practically every day! However, at least there's a clear pattern emerging with the hairstyles I like, so that's something! Now if I can just find someone to create it...

16 June, 2008

I need a change! Post haste...but post-wedding...

Ok, so over the last few months I’ve grown totally sick of my hair. I never DO anything with it! It’s so flat and booooring. So now I really feel like mixing things up, cutting it all off or going red, or something. The only problem is…THE WEDDING! I can’t change anything until after the wedding! Because I want long, loose curls, so it has to be long, and I want to be blonde, because I’ve been blonde for 29 years and my wedding photos is not the place to change that! So suddenly I can’t wait until November when I can do something like totally radical, hey.
You know how boring Gwyneth Paltrow is? My hair looks like hers. Only thinner and less well-groomed.





I think I could carry off a choppy bob like Elliott did in Scrubs a few seasons back, when she did a big makeover:

Fun, Huh? Anybody else planning on making a big change after their wedding?